Posts Tagged ‘September 15 2008’

The FDIC’s failed bank list shows all FDIC-insured banks that have failed since October 1, 2000.

As of Sunday, July 18, 2010, there are a total of 297 reported failed banks.

255 of those 297 failures have been since the September 15, 2008 Lehman Brothers bankruptcy.

However, the FDIC’s failed bank list only paints part of the picture.

As of March 5, 2009, the FDIC reported a total of 8284 insured institutions.

As of July 15, 2010, the FDIC reported a total of 7836 insured institutions.

Therefore, a total of 448 institutions have failed, closed, or been acquired since March 5, 2009 — representing 5.4% of the insured banks on March 5, 2009.

Read Full Post »